A (Hopefully) Delicious Journey

Hi all! So I’m back from college for the summer and find myself looking for lots of things to keep myself busy. I’ve been cleaning around the house, I applied for a few jobs (and got one!), I’ve been reading, and I even got a gym membership. While all these things are great, a strong desire of mine has been to learn how to cook!

A little background: I’m quite possibly one of the world’s worst cooks. Seriously. One time, I was trying to cook my brothers popcorn chicken in the oven, and managed to set off all the smoke alarms. The fire department came and I had to reluctantly explain that there was no fire except for the one in my face, which I’m sure was bright red from embarrassment. The point is, my chef skills, or lack thereof, could use some fine tuning. That’s why I’ve decided to do just that this summer! And I’m excited to document my journey for my minimal viewers, which I’m still hoping will increase- fingers crossed!

The very first thing I decided to make was sweet tea! I know, I know. It’s not QUITE cooking, but I figured I needed to take some baby steps and luckily, it was super easy to make! All I had to do was boil water, let the tea steep, then stir in ice until it cooled. The result was a delicious, super refreshing pitcher of sweet tea. Not a bad start to my journey, if I do say so myself.

My next idea was to make brownies… from the box. It took me a while to figure out what pan to use- my kitchen has so many, and I wasn’t sure which were meant for baking- but I eventually figured it out. After following the instructions and getting everything in the oven, I noted that that wasn’t too bad! Soon after, I realized that the hardest part of cooking is definitely the clean-up. Not a huge fan of doing dishes or wiping brownie mix off my countertops, but the end result of a clean kitchen smelling like brownies was totally worth it. I even plated them up with ice cream and strawberries for me and my brothers, and it was a total treat.

IMG_0238

That’s all I have for now! I’m super excited to continue to try new recipes and HOPEFULLY end up with something DELICIOUS.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

