College = Tired

So I’ve been in college for about a month now, and it’s been pretty amazing. I have more friends than I’ve ever had, I have an extremely fun social life, I’m doing well in all my classes. I couldn’t ask for anything better. Obviously, I’ve had plenty of stressors, but I’ve really been doing pretty well.

I’ve taken so many naps. My sleeping schedule is kinda weird. For a week or two I couldn’t fall asleep before 2 am, so I had to take melatonin for a couple of days to get back on track. It’s okay now; I go to bed anywhere between 11 pm and 1 am, which is just fine for me considering I usually don’t have to be up until 8:30-9:00 am. I love how late I get to sleep in. It’s so refreshing since I used to have to get up so dang early in high school. I remember back in freshman year when I had to take the bus every day, so I was getting up at 5:00 am in order to have enough time to get ready. And even then I didn’t have enough time to get breakfast. It’s hard to shower, get ready, and eat all in one hour, so I usually had to skip eating. It got better junior and senior year though when I was able to drive myself and didn’t have to leave until about 6:55 the latest in order to make it to class on time. College is much better because I don’t have class until either 9:30 am or 10:00 am (depending on the day).

Let’s see. What else?

The dining hall food sucks. I mean, it’s good enough. But I definitely miss chicken cutlets and quality pasta and Doritos. I don’t get to eat chips anymore unless I buy them, and I’m too broke to buy them. There’s this place called Einstein Bros that sells really good bagels, so I usually get one every two weeks or so. I’d go more often but I only have a limited number of “bucks”. I think I’m going to switch meal plans next semester so I have less meals and more bucks. That would be a lot better for me. I could buy so many more bagels!

I’m really excited for spring break. I plan on working all of Christmas break so I can afford going somewhere awesome. Although if I want to go somewhere with my friends, I still can’t spend that much because they are only able to afford so much because of their limited savings. That’s okay though, as long as I get to travel somewhere warm and spend the entire week at the beach, I’ll be a-okay. I just need to start working on my beach body. The goal is to not gain anymore weight than I’ve probably already gained. It makes sense that I’ve gained weight though. This is the longest amount of time in my entire life where I haven’t had a commitment to dance, cross country, or track, where I’m required to exercise. It’s definitely nice to be able to relax though. I just need to start working out at the gym more. I have a few times already, I just need to go at least every other day (which means I’m going to have to go tomorrow). I don’t mind though, the hardest part is just making myself go. Once I’m there I do a good job and workout for about an hour. Although I think that if I really want to lose weight, I need to go running outside. There’s something about running on a treadmill that just isn’t quite right. I just need the weather to be consistently cooler. Running in the heat is just too awful; although, it burns more calories, so maybe it’d actually be a half-decent idea…

Alright, I need to go finish an essay now.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

